Banner Bar

Article: Emily Colpi Named 2022 Award of Excellence Recipient

Emily Colpi Named 2022 Award of Excellence Recipient

Steve Estepp and Emily Colpi

The Mariemont City School District Award of Excellence is awarded annually to an individual who exemplifies dedication to and support of Mariemont City Schools. Mariemont High School librarian and digital learning coach Emily Colpi is the recipient of the 2021-22 Award of Excellence.
Mrs. Colpi has worked in Mariemont City Schools for 20 years now as the media specialist overseeing the library at the high school. But throughout the last 20 years, as education changed and evolved, so did her role and her focus. With each new piece of technology that was incorporated into the classrooms, she learned and grew her expertise. She has since added technology coach to her repertoire and has recently completed over 60 hours of training to become a certified Apple Learning Coach.
Any high school staff member, and probably many others in other buildings, can attest to the fact that she is the first person to volunteer to help teachers in any way she can. She will assist with a class project, find valid research and even turn her library into a poetry café to create unforgettable experiences for students. 
But her most admirable trait is that she is a fierce supporter of kids. She is an advocate for students to be exactly who they are, and makes the strongest connections with students who often don’t have anyone else in their corner. Mariemont City Schools is a caring place for all students and that has a lot to do with the culture that Mrs. Colpi works hard to create each and every day.
She is a support for colleagues and students alike. She is unphased by, and even embraces, change and advancements to her role. And she is, as one of her nominators stated so eloquently, “an icon.”
Congratulations to the following staff members who also were nominated for the Award of Excellence by a student, parent, community member or colleague:
Lauren Dammel
Anne Dunn
Missy Fields
Jimmy Galloway
Susie Henize
Colleen Herking
Ann Hobart
Jen Hrovat
Amy Kapcar
Sarah McRae
Kevin Maness
Courtney Miller
Rob Polca
Mike Rafales
Pam Tackett
Mary Tensing
Eric Weiss
Joe Williford
Jeremy Willis
Tricia Woitha
David Wolfford
Tom Zaya
Vicki Zaya

Print This Article