Banner Bar

Article: Ericka Simmons Named 2019 Award of Excellence Recipient

Ericka Simmons Named 2019 Award of Excellence Recipient

Ericka Simmons receiving an award

The Mariemont City School District Award of Excellence is awarded annually to an individual who exemplifies dedication to and support of Mariemont City Schools. Mariemont Elementary School principal Ericka Simmons is the recipient of the 2019 Award of Excellence.

Mrs. Simmons has excelled in her role since her first year in the district, but she has taken Mariemont Elementary to new heights in 2018-19. In October the school was honored as a National Blue Ribbon School by the United States Department of Education and received the status of “Exemplary High Performing School.” ME was one of just 349 schools recognized throughout the United States and she accepted the award at a national ceremony in Washington, D.C. in November.

Additionally, under Simmons' leadership this school year, Mariemont Elementary received the Momentum Award from the State Board of Education of Ohio. This award recognizes schools that exceed expectations in student growth by receiving all A’s on the Value-Added measures on the state report card. Only six percent of schools in Ohio were recognized with the Momentum Award and Mariemont Elementary was one of only 84 schools in the entire state to receive the Momentum Award for a third year, placing the school among the top three percent in the state for consistently demonstrating academic growth.

Despite the awards and accolades Mariemont Elementary has earned this year, Simmons would tell you her greatest achievements are the relationships she has formed with her colleagues, staff, students and families. She is passionate about making Mariemont Elementary a place where everyone feels they belong and is never too busy for a student or staff member in need. Her door is always open to listen, to teach, to comfort, to feed, to guide, to coach, to love and to appreciate each person for who they are. She is a constant source of support for her staff members, both professionally and personally, and will stop at nothing to make sure her students know they are cared for and loved at ME.

The impact she has had on her staff at ME is displayed in the dozens of nominations she received for this award. Some of the nominations called her a phenomenal leader, role model and person; a leader everyone wants to follow because she takes risks and builds confidence in her staff; the epitome of excellence; and the reason Mariemont Elementary is the best place to work.

Congratulations to the following staff members who also were nominated for the Award of Excellence by a student, parent, community member or colleague:

Dan Allen
Tom Amlung
Julie Bell
Tricia Buchert
Ann Bullar
Julie Cohen
David Colaw
Emily Colpi
Lauren Dammel
Norma Eddington
Kevin Ferry
Cindy Gorman
Kristy Gulbin
Mike Haney
Ann Hobart
Annie Hobson
Mary Jacob
Julie Koehler
Jessica Long
Kevin Maness
Melissa Marker
Liz McGahey
Amanda McHugh
Courtney Miller
MaryAnn Morris
Faith Mott
Lindsay Oberschlake
Nicole Parr
Jeff Radloff
Mike Rafales
Beth Rich
Michelle Rich
Ericka Simmons
Amy Skinner
Marissa Szabo
Dee Walter
Jeremy Willis
Tom Zaya

Print This Article
Apple App Store Google Play Store