This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.

Terrace Park, Heather Alexander Earn Governor’s Award for Excellence in STEM Education

Terrace Park, Heather Alexander Earn Governor’s Award for Excellence in STEM Education

Terrace Park Elementary School and sixth grade teacher Heather Alexander have been honored by the Ohio Academy of Science with the Governor’s Thomas Edison Award for Excellence in STEM Education for their accomplishments during the 2017-18 school year.

In total, 61 Ohio schools and 672 teachers received the award for their work promoting STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) in the classroom. The criteria for the Thomas Edison Award for Excellence are: (1) to conduct a local science fair with twelve or more students, (2) qualify two or more of these students for one of the Academy's 17 district science days, (3) have students participate in at least one or more youth science opportunities beyond the classroom such as State Science Day, Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair, Science Olympiad, B-Wiser, visits to museums, mentorship programs, and extended field trips and other structured STEM-related youth activities, (4) convince external STEM professionals how and to what extent the school’s program met the Academy’s definition of STEM education.

First established in 1985, the Governor’s Thomas Edison Awards recognizes Ohio schools and teachers who stimulate scientific student research and technological design and extend opportunities beyond traditional classroom activities. “These schools and teachers clearly promote and encourage student-focused, inquiry-based, science research.”, said Michael E. Woytek, the Academy’s CEO. Woytek went on to say, “each of the awardees demonstrates a commitment to providing hands-on learning experiences beyond the traditional classroom setting, and they value the rigor of competing at District and State Science Day”.

For being honored, Terrace Park Elementary will receive a special Governor’s Award certificate while Heather Alexander will receive a complementary membership to The Ohio Academy of Science.

For more information about the award and for a complete list of honored schools and teachers, click here.