This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.

Mariemont City School District Named to AP District Honor Roll

Mariemont City School District Named to AP District Honor Roll

From left to right: Michael Becksfort, Ken White (board member), Bruce Miller, Erik Vanags, Mike Hanley, Bill Flynn (board member), David Wainscott, MaryBeth Khamis, David Wolfford, Amy Leatherwood, Mike Gaburo (board president), Luke Wiseman, Kim Richardson, Eric Weiss, Carolina Timmerding, Nan Dill (board vice president), Jeff Radloff, Elizabeth Briggs, David Colaw, Kelli Neville (board member)

The College Board named the Mariemont City School District as one of the top school districts in the United States and Canada and has placed the district on the 7th annual AP District Honor Roll. At the February Mariemont Board of Education meeting, Dr. Rashida Savage from the College Board and Dr. James Renner, principal at Mariemont High School, recognized the Mariemont High School Advanced Placement (AP) teachers.

“This is the first time we have been on the AP Honor Roll and I congratulate all of our staff who either teach AP courses or prepare our students to take AP courses,” said Dr. James Renner, principal at Mariemont High School. “The rubric for getting on the honor roll is impressive. It takes the efforts of every one of our AP teachers to achieve the tremendous results we do year after year.”

The honor roll consists of the 433 school districts in the U.S. and Canada that simultaneously achieved increases in access to AP courses for a broader number of students and also maintained or improved the rate at which their AP students earned scores of 3 or higher on an AP Exam. Last school year, Mariemont High School recognized 92 AP scholars and 42 AP scholars with distinction, which means the student scored at least a 3.5 on all exams taken and received a 3 or higher on five or more of those exams. The year prior, the district recognized 77 AP scholars and 29 AP scholars with distinction.

"This is a tremendous achievement and it reflects the hard work and dedication these educators have to their students,” said Dr. Savage. “Not only are the students being challenged to be more critical thinkers, they’re showing results at the collegiate level and are doing phenomenal work with what they accomplish during their time at Mariemont High School.”

Dr. Savage and Dr. Renner recognized Mariemont High School teachers Michael Becksfort, Elizabeth Briggs, David Colaw, Kevin Ferry, Mike Hanley, MaryBeth Khamis, Amy Leatherwood, Bruce Miller, Jeff Radloff, Kim Richardson, Carolina Timmerding, Erik Vanags, David Wainscott, Eric Weiss, Luke Wiseman, David Wolfford and Indian Hill High School teacher Susan Savage.

“Our Advanced Placement coursework is such an integral part of the academic program at our high school, so it’s great to see the program get the recognition it deserves,” said Steven Estepp, district superintendent. “I certainly understand and appreciate the extra time and commitment it takes to teach these courses, and sincerely appreciate everything these teachers do to create a great experience for our students and our community.”

Click here for more information regarding the AP Honor Roll Distinction.

7th Annual AP District Honor Roll Recipients Banner