This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.

Students Display Artwork in Statewide Exhibit

The Mariemont City School District is proud to announce that three students had artwork selected for the Ohio Art Education Association's 2017 Youth Art Month Exhibit and three students had artwork selected for the 37th annual Young People’s Art Exhibit.

Reese Lawson, 2nd grade at Terrace Park Elementary; Sydney Stith, 2nd grade at Mariemont Elementary; and Colin Mikesell, 5th grade at Mariemont Elementary, each had artwork selected for this year’s Youth Art Month Exhibition in March. 

Max Dougherty, 1st grade at Mariemont Elementary; Katarina Wright, 3rd grade at Mariemont Elementary; and Mitchell James (MJ) Steele, 5th grade at Terrace Park Elementary, each had artwork selected for the Young People’s Art Exhibition. 

There are nine regions in Ohio representing the OAEA, this year’s show includes 125 pieces of student artwork from all over the state. OAEA works to promote art education and recognizes quality student art through various exhibits sponsored throughout the year at both the state and the national levels. 

An awards ceremony and reception for both exhibitions will be held on Saturday, March 11 in Columbus for the artists and their parents, teachers and guests. Both exhibitions, which are hosted at separate locations in Columbus, Ohio, will remain open to the public from February 27 until March 18. For more information about the exhibitions, please view the OAEA online calendar.

"This is a wonderful honor for these students, their parents and their teachers, and I know the students are proud to represent Mariemont City Schools," said Linda Lee, principal at Terrace Park Elementary. "We strive to encourage all of our students to embrace and grow in the arts, and this accomplishment by these students is a true testament to the dedication of our arts teachers and the implicit talent of our students." 

Thank you to Shelley Komrska, Melissa Rupe and Ann Hobart, who are the art teachers that submitted the artwork on behalf of these students.